Texas Online License To Carry Course
Take the License To Carry class online. If you are uncomfortable sitting in a class full of people, have a busy schedule, or just don't want to wait for an open seat to become available, then skip ahead of the waiting line and take the classroom portion online in the comfort of your home , office, or anywhere using your phone, computer, or tablet. This is the official State of Texas DPS online course to get your LTC and legally carry a pistol in Texas. The online course is a minimum mandated 4 hours long and is required to get your LTC. You can take the online class at your own pace , 30 minutes a day or finish it all at once. It saves your progress so you can come and go at your convenience, it's up to you. After completing the online course you will receive a downloadable form called a LTC-101 form that you need to print out . Now you need to find a certified LTC instructor near you to finish your required 1 to 2 hours of range instruction training. The range instruction training is a separate fee which is determined by the instructor you attend. After successfully completing the range training the LTC instructor will sign your LTC-101 form which you then turn into the State or Texas (links provided below). The range fee is currently $60 if you take your Online class through this website link at the bottom . If you take the online course somewhere else and then come to Ranch Patrol Firearms Training to complete the range training the fee will be $80. Ranch Patrol Firearms Training is located in Athens Texas and has range training available at night during the weekdays . Call or text to schedule an appointment for your range training.
After clicking on the link below Do Not add anything extra to your cart , it automatically adds this class to your cart. Just check out with your credit or debit card. For questions feel to call or text.
Go see our Facebook page Ranch Patrol Firearms Training
Beginner Pistol Class
School Safety Active Shooter Certification Class
this class is open to anyone with a LTC
Call for details
Texas Online LTC Course $60*
Handgun License $80
Class must have 4 to have an in classroom course, otherwise we offer the LTC course online which offers much better firearms training. Check the link above. Texas has changed the name of the Concealed Handgun License (CHL) to License To Carry ( LTC ). In the LTC CLASS you are required and expected to already know proper firearms safety and how to shoot and load your pistol. Ranch Patrol has a beginners class to get you familiar with your pistol. The LTC class is not a firearms training class . The LTC class covers law , where you can and can't carry , laws that relate to the use of force and deadly force , holsters and safe storage of your firearms. The LTC class is a 4 to 6 hour long class plus range time . We offer a range on site so no range fees are required . After the class , there will be a short multiple choice/ T/F test and a shooting test. The shooting test is a timed test and covers accuracy , safe handling , and following directions . B27 targets will be used .
What to bring to LTC class:
You will need a pistol , does not matter if a revolver or semi-auto is used and there are no caliber size requirements so a 22 can be used now . No laser or red dot sights allowed, 50 rounds of factory loaded ammo ( no reloads ), plus hearing and eye protection . Do not wear shorts or open toe shoes . No loose clothing for hot spent brass to catch in. When you attend the LTC class leave your pistol unloaded and locked in your vehicle . Bring in class with you your I.D. , something to eat and drink (no alcohol) and a learning attitude . The LTC class cost $80 and requires a group of 4 and larger. We offer a beginners class for first time shooters.
$10 discount for Active Military, Veterans, Retired Police, and First Responders
BEFORE you can turn in your LTC-100 you must complete the LTC State Application CLICK HERE for the LTC State Application
After you pass the LTC class the Instructor will give you a LTC-100 form that must be sent to the Great State of Texas that informs the State that you passed. Click here to submit LTC-100<C-101
(on the left side of the states page click on "Submit LTC Supporting Documents")
You must complete the LTC State Application BEFORE turning in your LTC-100
Pistol Training Classes
This class is for someone who has never handled a pistol
Defensive Pistol 1 $80
Defensive Pistol 2 $100
Defensive Pistol 3 $120
We offer several different levels of training , from beginners to advanced classes . Our training is not the normal basic training but more of a real world tactical defensive style of shooting. We have found these techniques have worked very well with all age groups from 10 to 90 years of age. With ammo in short supply and high demand we use low round count high gun manipulation drills. This means you learn how to become one with your pistol , how to move with and around your gun and others safely with out using a high volume of ammo. We believe there are no wasted movements, every action has a purpose and reason behind it. These drills teach the novice how to progress forward to be an advanced defensive pistol shooter in a short period of time. We will never push the student beyond their ability , safety is our main concern.
Defensive Pistol 1 $80
The class is a 2-3 hours long course that covers
-Safe handling and operation
-Loading and unloading
-Sight alignment and sight picture
-Drawing from the holster using the 4 count draw
-Shooting both 2 handed and 1 hand
-Shooting from the 2 and 3 position
This class covers the basics and is recommended before taking your LTC but not required .
If you take the online LTC course you will receive this class for your range training
What To Bring for the Tactical Pistol 1 class :
Bring your UNLOADED pistol in a case to class with you .
DO NOT bring a loaded gun in the classroom . Bring a holster, drink , eye and hearing protection . It will be a mixture of dry fire and live fire drills. All training is done on the range , no boring classroom time. Bring at least 50 rounds of ammo. Dress for the weather . No open-toe shoes and no shorts or dresses . Federal law requires you to be a U.S. citizen in order for Ranch Patrol LLC to train you .
Defensive Pistol 2 $100
In the this course you will build off of Pistol 1.
This course is 2-3 hours long and involves:
Basics of moving with your pistol
Basics of shooting from behind cover
Basics of drawing from concealment
Transitions on multiple targets
A License To Carry, level 3 or 4 Tx security license, or Tx peace officers license is required. This is the only way Ranch Patrol Firearms Training knows you have had a state and federal back ground check and we know to the best of our knowledge that our training will not be used in a criminal manner but in self defense of the individual being trained.
Bring to class :
Holster , preferred kydex or similar, no soft shell or shoulder holsters allowed
2 or more magazines
minimum of 100 or more
Dress range and weather appropriate
Hearing and eye protection
Defensive Pistol 3 $100
This class ties previous classes together into many drills where moving and shooting is required. Its a more high intensity class utilizing many different drills such as shooting from multiple different covers, from the ground, from concealment, transitions on multiple targets all while simultaneously utilizing reloads and malfunctions drills.
Bring to class:
100 to 200 rounds of ammo
Hearing and eye protection
Dress range appropriate
You have to complete 1 and 2 before you can take Tactical Pistol 3
Safety , Knowledge , Skill , Attitude
DPS LTC Instructor
NRA Pistol Instructor
DPS Personal Protection Officer
Level 3 Security School
School Safety Instructor